2011 Summer Unplugged: My Media Fast

I have not been blogging much lately and I thought the time had come to share about my little summer experiment. Beginning today I am committing to a media fast.

What’s does a media fast look like?

  • No Facebook: I will still receive personal messages as emails
  • No Twitter
  • No newspapers
  • No news or church gossip websites
  • No news radio
  • No blog posting
  • No Television: Versus and Netflix excluded
  • No responding to non-urgent email or voice mail except one, 1 hour session everyday

Why abstain from all that information?

I am tired and distracted. I have done this to myself. I have been sleeping with my phone on “in case of emergencies.” I have been reading about national and Church politics and what people eat for dinner and what mall and restaurant they are visiting and I am fed up with my lack on peace. It’s not you, it’s me. I have taken in too much information. Bleh.

What am I going to do instead of reading about Arnold Schwarzenegger and the OCA?

I intend to listen to music, read, write, hike, play the Ukulele everyday and play and pray more with the family.

God bless and keep you this summer! Christ is Risen!

Fr. James

10 Comments

Filed under A Good Life

10 responses to “2011 Summer Unplugged: My Media Fast

  1. THANK GOD FOR FR. JAMES!! Yes, the media assault has been raging too long + we buy it!

    Outside of urgent Email, i don’t get the hoopla on Twitter + Facebook at all..

    Writing a letter + mailing it is far sweeter than email.
    Keeping some SILENCE is far more attractive to all.

  2. Maarit

    Dear Fr. James, congratulations!
    You & your family, friends, parish …all “your people” will be blessed through your media fast .
    God bless you, too !
    *** Christ IS risen! ***

  3. Liesl Coffin

    Blessed Fast Fr. James! Christ is Risen.

  4. Michael

    Indeed Christ is Risen!! Thank you for your inspiration.

  5. Did this once in Lent and it was wonderful. Contemplating joining you.

  6. Lenore Wilkison

    What if a parishioner does have an emergency and needs you????

  7. Christopher Chesny

    Hey, Father! It’s Christopher Chesny here in Europe. i randomly came across this site of yours while I was searching for an icon of St. Christopher and for some reason you were a top 30 selection on Google. I hope the summer is well, and I hope the fast keeps up. Take care…

    – Christopher Chesny

  8. I love this . . .
    and struggle to live this,
    some say it’s ignorant bliss,
    or call me a Ludditist,
    but it’s simply peaceful
    living in my quiet
    abyss . . .

    (no, I’m not a poet-.ist)

  9. Just when I finally found some time to check out your blog? Oh well, while you are fasting, I’ll explore your blog’s archives 🙂

Leave a comment