A Song of Ascents: Rock Climbing Camelback

Praying Monk on Camelback

This week I went rock climbing on Camelback.  I affectionately call Camelback, “My Holy Mountain.” I have hiked Camelback’s Echo Canyon trail many times every week for the past 5 ½ years. But this was my first time rock climbing on Camelback. I went with a friend who knew what he was doing and where we were going. We hiked and climbed where few ever are able to go. I asked him about different ratings on our climbs and he would call out different numbers, which have absolutely no meaning to me. After one wall I asked, “What would you rate that last one?” He called back, “I would rate that one as fun!”

We saw a large active beehive, waterfall stains, two foxes and 2 places where hikers have fallen to their deaths. Keith died when he climbed up a wall and came face to face with an angry beehive. You can see his cross in the picture below. The other hiker, Tessa Worby, fell to her death while hiking/climbing alone two years ago this month. Seeing where Keith and Tessa died gets One thinking…

We go hiking and climbing to exercise and open our hearts and minds. You look up to a rock face or down a repel and realize that you have to trust your equipment, your hiking partner and the Lord. Climbing mountains reminds us that life is short, fragile, joyful, difficult, sometimes dangerous and always full of meaning.

Psalm 121 A Song of Ascents. Of David

I lift up my eyes to the hills. From whence does my help come. My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth. He will not let your foot be moved, he who keeps you will not slumber. Behold, he who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep. The LORD is your keeper; the LORD is your shade on your right hand. The sun shall not smite you by day, nor the moon by night. The LORD will keep you from all evil; he will keep your life. The LORD will keep your going out and your coming in from this time forth and for evermore.

Memorial Cross

Climbing into August Canyon

Heading into the "Back Country"

Camelback, "My Holy Mountain"

3 Comments

Filed under A Good Life, Beaches, Canyons, Deserts, Mountains and Monasteries

3 responses to “A Song of Ascents: Rock Climbing Camelback

  1. You need to go with us to Weaver’s Needle in the Superstition Mountains. I have a picture of a “shadow Indian” up there. Steffen and I, with my dad, packed up there last year and stayed overnight in what seemed to be a ceremonial ground. There was an altar at the top. It sits right next to Weaver’s Needle which looks like a spaceship coming out of the ground about 50 stories high. You can hike (easily) to the middle of it and stand on a pretty large ledge. We have not done that yet but would love to. That place has a spiritual ring to it, no doubt. The legend is that the Indians are still protecting the lost gold. Weird thing is that last summer three guys died out there trying to find it.

  2. Pingback: A Song of Ascents: Rock Climbing Camelback | Scholé | Climbing News and Information

  3. Bandy Schmidt

    Thank you so much for sharing your story. Tessa is my goddaughter and niece and is loved by all…

Leave a Reply

