Ready, Set, Reset

My Son's Sunset Skateboard Shot in La Jolla, CA

I took off 70 days, an entire summer, from blogging. It was time to hit the reset button. And it was not only  the blog that got the axe. I said “good bye” to a weekly meeting. I resigned from a volunteer position when they asked for 5 to 8 hours a week. And the cell phone rang itself to voice mail every early morning, late night, weekend, days off and while on vacation. My schedule is still full but I am leaner and meaner when it comes to time. The proper use of time means work when working, play when playing, etc. Living in the present moment.

St. Gregory Palamas writes about Christ resting and that we too ought to seek this divine rest. He says we need to concentrate our heart through attention and uninterrupted prayer. If you are like me you are tired of being scattered, running from thing to thing and barely praying. This summer I took a stab at less distraction. It has been nice.

Scholé will reflect the change I have implemented in my life. Blogs should appear at the much less hectic pace of about 3 times a week. Thank you for reading.

2 Comments

Filed under A Good Life, Regarding the Present Moment

2 responses to “Ready, Set, Reset

  1. Joan Kirkpatrick

    Glad you are back! I agree 100% with why you stopped and why you have reset! Can’t wait for the next one.

  2. Tim

    Good for you Father! Can’t wait to see what you put out!

    This is the Tim from 4th of July weekend, by the way.

Leave a Reply

