Remembering the Long Lost Art of Worship and Rest

I took a timeout from blogging during Bright Week. I was very ready for a break and when I heard that Michael Hyatt, CEO of Thomas Nelson, was shutting down his blog for Holy Week and Bright Week so I knew a good idea had come my way. Bright Week became about Sabbath and rest.

People are tired. We need a break. I am constantly thinking through steps to simplify my life and approach a more minimalistic lifestyle. And today, while doing my readings, I stumbled on a verse that reached out and grabbed me:

Remember the word of the Lord which Moses, the servant of the Lord, commanded you saying, “The Lord your God has caused you to rest and has given you this land.” Joshua 1:13 bold mine (Further reading: Deuteronomy 3:12-20)

The only part of God’s creation that avoids rest are the beings that stand to benefit from it the most. We need some rest and relaxation. We fill our schedules and suffer from sickness and stress. We are lonely and unable to concentrate. All we do is work.

“Unfortunately, this hectic pace is causing damage to our quality of life. We are destroying every sense of our being (body, mind, and soul). There is a reason we run faster and work harder, but only fall farther behind. Our lives have become too full and too out of balance. Somewhere along the way, we lost the essential practice of concentrated rest. We would be wise to reclaim the ancient, lost practice of resting one day each week.” Joshua Becker of Becoming Minimalist.

We need to hit the pause button one day a week.

Scripture tells us to remember (Ex 20:8), keep (Lv 19:3, 30), sanctify (Jer 17:19-27) and guard (Deut. 5:15) the Sabbath rest. Everyone needs a break. It’s as if Scripture is warning us that protecting the worship and rest we need is going to be difficult. Is the Sabbath something you observe? Any tips you can give for the rest of us struggling to make it part of our lives?

1 Comment

Filed under A Good Life, Regarding the Present Moment

One response to “Remembering the Long Lost Art of Worship and Rest

  1. It is my experience that Christian ministers of all persuasions, orthodox and heterodox, are completely ‘knackered’ by the time Pascha is over. The workload is staggering.
    Holy Week for me was the most spiritually intense time. Father and I were planning my chrismation for Pascha, but in the end I had to cry off. I’m fine now and we are going for May 2, God willing (after Fr’s vacation).
    I think we need to pause on each step of the ladder, to look about and take stock of what God has achieved in us. Well I do, for sure. I think if I had rested on my journey more often, I may have got there quicker in the end. Still:
    His is Risen!
    Richard.

Leave a Reply

