Rain is Gonna Fall

Arizona Lightning Storm

I am preparing to speak at a teen retreat on, “Storms of Life: Can God Help Me?” I am going to speak about the four stories that are found in all four gospels in the same order. These stories are the only ones in the gospels where this occurs – 4 stories, all 4 gospels, same exact order. (Care to make a guess? Can you do it without looking at your Bible?) In my opening talk; after I tell the funny stories about my funny family; and after I tell the scary stories about my God-protected family, I am going to look at:

Every one then who hears these words of mine and does them will be like a wise man who built his house upon the rock; and the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and beat upon that house, but it did not fall, because it had been founded on the rock. And every one who hears these words of mine and does not do them will be like a foolish man who built his house upon the sand; and the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell; and great was the fall of it.” And when Jesus finished these sayings, the crowds were astonished at his teaching, for he taught them as one who had authority, and not as their scribes. Matthew 7:24-29

I think that it is important to clear up right here, right now that good things happen to good people and bad people and that bad things happen to good people and bad people. The storms come to both the wise and the foolish. We think that if life is not going well that God has punished us or worse, forgotten us. Or we may think that if there are no difficulties that we are living a righteous life. That is a false, prosperity gospel and NOT the Gospel of Jesus Christ. We should not pray that there would be no storms. We should pray that we not get bitter or lose heart when the storms come. We need to pray to stay close to Christ when the storms come. Because the storms are coming. Rain is gonna fall, as He Himself said:

But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, so that you may be sons of your Father who is in heaven; for he makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust. Matthew 5:44-45

4 Comments

Filed under Scripture Rumination

4 responses to “Rain is Gonna Fall

  1. Zaharenia

    I worry when there is no storm – I thirst for more rain. Amen.

  2. You made me think of Dylan:

    Oh, what’ll you do now, my blue-eyed son?
    Oh, what’ll you do now, my darling young one?
    I’m a-goin’ back out ‘fore the rain starts a-fallin’,
    I’ll walk to the depths of the deepest black forest,
    Where the people are many and their hands are all empty,
    Where the pellets of poison are flooding their waters,
    Where the home in the valley meets the damp dirty prison,
    Where the executioner’s face is always well hidden,
    Where hunger is ugly, where souls are forgotten,
    Where black is the color, where none is the number,
    And I’ll tell it and think it and speak it and breathe it,
    And reflect it from the mountain so all souls can see it,
    Then I’ll stand on the ocean until I start sinkin’,
    But I’ll know my song well before I start singin’,
    And it’s a hard, it’s a hard, it’s a hard, it’s a hard,
    It’s a hard rain’s a-gonna fall.

  3. Natalia Nauman

    Great point. But I can’t guess what 4 stories you refer to in the Bible. Do tell.

Leave a Reply

