7 Years Ago Today on Theophany

Theophany Icon

7 years ago today I was ordained to the Holy Priesthood in Santa Fe, NM. I wasn’t going to say anything about it. I was going to simply blog about Theophany and quote the scripture (see below), and quote the song we sing during the service (see below), and put up the icon of Christ’s Baptism (see right). Because if I mention my ordination, I will feel compelled to add something personal. Here we go. The question I am asking myself this morning: “Why do I continue to wrestled with God so much?” I am sometimes like a little kid trying to wiggle out of the winter coat his parents have put on him. Sometimes I love the coat and sometimes I do not. But there is always some wiggling going on. That’s the truth.

In those days Jesus came from Nazareth of Galilee and was baptized by John in the Jordan. And when he came up out of the water, immediately he saw the heavens opened and the Spirit descending upon him like a dove; and a voice came from heaven, “Thou art my beloved Son; with thee I am well pleased.” The Spirit immediately drove him out into the wilderness. And he was in the wilderness forty days, tempted by Satan; and he was with the wild beasts; and the angels ministered to him. Now after John was arrested, Jesus came into Galilee, preaching the gospel of God, and saying, “The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand; repent, and believe in the gospel.” Mark 1: 9-15

The Orthodoxy Church believes that in Baptism we put on Christ. We are buried with Christ in His death and raised up with Him in His glorious Resurrection. We are baptized for the remission of sins and raised up to new life. When Christ, who is without sin, was Baptized by John in the Jordan it was not He who was changed. His Baptism purified the waters!

When Thou, O Lord were baptized in the Jordan the worship of the Trinity was made manifest. For the voice of the Father bore witness to Thee calling Thee His beloved Son.  And the Spirit, in the form of a dove,  confirmed the truthfulness of His word.  O Christ, our God, Who hast revealed Thyself  and has enlightened the world, glory to Thee! – Troparia for Theophany

8 Comments

Filed under A Good Life, Orthodox Christianity, Sundays, Feast Days, Other Days

8 responses to “7 Years Ago Today on Theophany

  1. Juvenaly Martinka

    Father bless!

    For me. This day is the 7 year anniversary of my baptism. At this time I was on the Old calendar so it was/is Nativity. But it is nice to know I share this glorious day with you. May God bless us all!

  2. Nicholas Livingston

    Axios! May God grant you many many years!

  3. christian

    Christ is in our midst!

    Thank you for your honesty. I sometimes feel like I can’t say things like, “Sometimes I love the coat and sometimes I do not.” I know that I’m not a priest in the clerical sense, but I do struggle against the call of discipleship. Thank you for letting that be so.

    Also, thanks for your time at the college conference. It was truly a blessing to have you there and to hear the words of Dietrich Bonhoeffer come out of the mouth of an Orthodox priest. I admire the man deeply and don’t think he’s given enough credit by non-Protestants.

    Blessed Feast!

  4. From a fellow wiggler, God grant you many years! Today is my first post-baptism Theophany so I’m still getting used to the coat of Christ 🙂 May He always enfold us in His love!

  5. frjohnpeck

    Axios!

    18 yrs ago today I was chrismated. A good day all around.

  6. Fr Nathan Thompson

    Axios. May God grant you many years. You should be careful, if you don’t stop wrestling, He may just give you a bum hip 😉

  7. Jim, blessings this day. As Episcopalians say, wrestling is an important part of a true relationship with God. What an awe-filled thing to fall into the hands of the living God…however, sometimes after a long night, you limp.

Leave a Reply

