It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas

“Today all creatures shall be filled with joy; for Christ has been born of the Virgin.”

On November 1st I walked into Target and there were Christmas trees up! It used to really bother me that as soon as Halloween was off the shelves Christmas would arrive. In the past I found the early Christmas displays and the radio’s 24 hours-a-day Christmas music kind of appalling. I was that guy who went around reminding everyone that the 12 days of Christmas actually begin on Christmas day.

But something happened to me a few years ago. I had to admit to myself that I wanted to extend Christmas. Soon my radio’s dial will start making it’s way to the station that plays Christmas music from Thanksgiving to Christmas 24 hours a day. I am ready. Bring on Christmas!

But don’t hold this jumping-the-gun against me because the Church is a little like this – for the next few weeks we will be singing the Kontakion of preparation for the Nativity:

“Today the Virgin cometh to the cave to give birth in an ineffable manner to the Word before the ages. Rejoice, therefore, O universe, when thou hearest, and glorify with the angels and shepherds him who shall appear by his own will as a new babe, being God before the ages.”

Sure, the retail stores are motivated by money and year-end sales to boost their bottom line. So what? They want money but all I hear is Christmas music. I can’t help myself. Let them play Christmas music and decorate earlier and earlier. Let them sing of the Child born of The Virgin.

We are entering into the season of preparation for the birth of the Messiah and joy begins to grab hold. How do we prepare for Christmas? Prayer, fasting and almsgiving are our disciplines.. But, even in these disciplines joy grabs us. We pray, fast, and give alms with joy. We shop and buy gifts for everyone. Why? The Christ is born into the world. So, we do not shop like people who have lost sight of the purpose. We shop with joy! The Church’s Nativity services say it so well…

“Today all creatures shall be filled with joy; for Christ has been born of the Virgin.”

5 Comments

Filed under Orthodox Christianity, Sundays, Feast Days, Other Days

5 responses to “It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas

  1. frjohnpeck

    So, now I’m going to Target!

    • Alyson d'Arms

      I feel the same about Christmas. With the time invasion we have these days, Dec is usually spent fretting about shopping, food and event planning leaving very little time to even enjoy let alone prepare within. Starting early helps do that.. And this year I think we need to remember the JOY even more.

  2. Steve Landregan

    A fresh perspective on Christmas in November. I like it. Looking forward to Thanksgiving with you all.
    Steve

  3. Ron Lucarelli

    A fresh and sincere response!

Leave a Reply

