Skiing and Prayer: Good Medicine

There is nothing better than good medical care.  For the first time in my life I have a GREAT physician. My first visit was a couple of years ago when I turned 40. He spent well over an hour gathering family information and hearing every concern. He, ahem, left no stone unturned. Throughout that and subsequent visits we have spoken in great theological depth. He is a very serious Roman Catholic. I quickly learned that my doctor appointments could just as easily conclude with him anointing me with oil as prescribing medicine. So far, they always conclude with him asking for my priestly blessing. There is something so right about medical care including not just the physical and emotional but also the state of the soul.

All of this is fresh because I just saw him again this past week. At the end of another great appointment (right before he asked for a blessing from me) I reminded him that I was concerned about my stress level. He said that I needed two things:

snowboarder1. I needed a group of people praying for me.

2. I needed to make sure to ski this winter. YES!

Yesterday the Orthodox Church commemorated the holy and wonder-working Unmercenaries Cosmas and Damian.

KOSMDAMI.JPGThese brothers were from Mesopotamia in Asia Minor. After the death of their pagan father, their Christ-loving mother Theodota reared them in piety and in all manner of virtue, and had them instructed in every science, especially that of medicine. This became their vocation, and they went about healing every illness and malady, bestowing healing for free on both men and beasts alike; because of this, Cosmas and Damian are called “Unmercenaries.” They fulfilled Christ’s command: “Freely have ye received; freely give” (Matthew 10:8). And thus, having completed the course of their life, they reposed in peace and are reported to continue working healing miracles.

3 Comments

Filed under Flames of Wisdom, Orthodox Christianity

3 responses to “Skiing and Prayer: Good Medicine

  1. Sounds like he gave you some very good advice.

  2. Dear Fr James:
    You are very fortunate to have a good physician. I am between doctors right now, and have never had a really good one. I need one that tells me I MUST get a horse (and writes a note insisting on this to my wife!). That is becoming my therapy right now.

    I am reading your blog almost daily. It often gives me good food for thought, and inspired me that maybe, just maybe, I can post daily too. I am up to about 4-5 posts a week, and trying to get ready to keep my promise made the the Preachers website.

    In Christ,
    Priest Seraphim Holland
    ST NICHOLAS ORTHODOX CHURCH:
    http://www.orthodox.net
    BLOG:
    http://www.orthodox.net/redeemingthetime

  3. s-p

    I need a doctor that will prescribe a 1957 Chevy Bel Aire station wagon restoration project… know of any? 🙂

Leave a Reply

