As Kingfishers Catch Fire

Pantocrator2As kingfishers catch fire, dragonflies draw flame;

As tumbled over rim to roundy wells

Stones ring; like each tucked string tells, each hung bell’s

Bow swung finds tongue to fling out broad its name;

Each mortal thing does one thing and the same:

Deals out that being indoors each one dwells;

Selves – goes its self; myself it speaks and spells,

Crying What I do is me: for that I came

I say more: the just man justices;

Keeps grace: that keeps all his going graces;

Acts in God’s eye what in God’s eye he is –

Christ. For Christ plays in ten thousand places,

Lovely in limbs, and lovely in eyes not his

To the Father through the feature of men’s faces.[1]


[1] by Gerard Manley Hopkins, Poet-Priest, 1844-1889

2 Comments

Filed under Poems, Books and Reviews

2 responses to “As Kingfishers Catch Fire

  1. slaniaburke

    I like this As Kingfishers Catch Fire

  2. Marlene kaim

    I am so pleased to find you enjoy Gerard Manley Hopkins, though not really surprised. His poetry captured me as a young college English student in the 70’s. I heard Fr. John Hainsworth do a reading of “God’s Grandeur” in his Paradosis podcast on AFR and dusted off my old college Victorian poetry textbook.
    I’m in love all over again.

Leave a Reply

