I’ll Make You An Offer You Can’t Refuse by Michael Franzese

_140_245_Book.46.coverI actually think, at least this time around, you should risk refusing Michael Franzese’s offer. I’ll Make You An Offer You Can’t Refuse was written to find “similarities between running a mob enterprise and operating a legitimate business.” (Page 7) It is an interesting idea for a book; mob’s made man management-meeting methods for law-abiders. He assumes that mob business negotiations can be translated to help make legitimate business practices more efficient. I am sure that I could streamline some appointments I have if I could use the very real threat of offing my colleagues. Don’t get me wrong, I did want to like this book. I like other books that give business tips and I like mafia stories. But Franzese’s book, in the end, is really not much of either.

The book lacks the business advice one would expect from a businessman. For example, Franzese advises the use of a business plan without describing what he considers the details of a good business plan to be or where to turn for a more in-depth resource. His big advice about meetings is to come prepared like mafia guys do. Really? Hopefully Franzese is a good enough at legitimate business so he will not need to write more books like this one.

I am a member of Thomas Nelson’s Book Review Blogger program. http://brb.thomasnelson.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Poems, Books and Reviews

Leave a Reply

