We need a heart and mind transplant

Leo Tolstoy said, “Everyone thinks of changing the world but nobody thinks of changing himself.” We go off to college thinking that we will study some courses and get a great job when we are done. But college is not so much about what we study as it is about the person we become. Becoming who we were made to be in Christ Jesus requires effort. But this “becoming” is not only about having a plan to set aside a time and place to pray and read the Bible. (This plan has traditionally been called a rule of prayer.) In order to be closer to Christ we not only need a rule of prayer we also need to live with a new heart and mind.

“A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you an heart of flesh.” (Ezekiel 36:26)

“I appeal to you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that you may prove what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.” (Romans 12:1-2).

In order for me to draw closer to Him, what does Christ want to see change in my heart, in my mind and how I live my life?

Daily readings in the Orthodox Church: Acts 19:1-8, John 14:1-11

1 Comment

Filed under Contemplative Prayer

One response to “We need a heart and mind transplant

  1. PW

    I think this is a good post. This was a trigger for a post on my blog site. My response would have been too long for this comment box. This post was a launching pad, as I said, for my own thoughts. Therefore, I thank you for writing this.

Leave a Reply

