I only write when I am inspired. Fortunately, I am inspired at nine o’clock every morning.

There is a little difficulty in figuring exactly who said, “I only write when I am inspired. Fortunately, I am inspired at nine o’clock every morning.” Most say William Faulkner said it. I do know that it is true. Any consistent discipline applied to art reaps great work. Jonathan Coulton may not be Mozart but he wrote and recorded a new song every week for a year and then released 4 “Thing a Week” albums. That’s what discipline is all about, consistency. Stephen King has written over 60 novels. Most writers struggle to nail down one or two. But King is consistent, insanely consistent.

Prayer and the entire spiritual life requires discipline and consistency. Discipline in the spiritual life is certainly about praying, reading scripture, attending church and many other things. But it is also about living every day as one whole complete life. Significantly more important than the amount of time one spends trying to grow in Christ is that there is some time and that it is consistent. Maybe if we applied this to the quote above it would read “I only pray when I am feeling spiritual. Fortunately I am feeling spiritual at nine o’clock every morning.” Consistency takes work until it becomes regular and automatic. Maybe this should be titled Stephen King and the Christian Life!

Today’s readings in the Orthodox Church:  Acts 17:19-28, John 12:19-36

Leave a comment

Filed under A Good Life, Contemplative Prayer, Regarding the Present Moment

Leave a Reply

